Introduction to Engineering Society (EngSoc) of MMU

First founded in 1999, the Engineering Society (EngSoc) of Multimedia University, Cyberjaya Campus is a faculty-based society, which was established to serve as a bridging ground between the faculty and its students. Constituted by MMU Cyberjaya’s undergraduates and postgraduates pursuing engineering and technology related courses, it includes student members of multiple professional groups, organizations and programme:
  1. The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) OnCampus
  2. The Optical Society (OSA) / The International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE) Student Chapter
  3. The Institution of Engineers Malaysia (IEM) Student Section
  4. Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Student Branch
  5. Multimedia University Engineering Society Overseas Research Programme (MESCORP)

This society hopes to be a platform of visions and voices for the faculty, which will simultaneously further enhance both the faculty and university’s mission of becoming a world-class producer of innovative graduates, which will contribute significantly to the knowledge-based community. The objectives of this society are as follow:

As such, the Engineering Society is carefully structured with its activities aimed to cultivate deeper interest in the field of Engineering with critical thinking skills, leadership qualities, creativity and good ethics amongst engineering students besides helping them to realize their latent potentials.

In the year 2002, the Engineering Society, along with the strong support of the former Dean of the Faculty of Engineering, Ir. Professor Dato Dr. Chuah Hean Teik, founded the 'Multimedia University Engineering Society Overseas Research programme' or in short, 'MESCORP' under the patronage of our Honourable Chancellor, YABhg. Tun Dr. Siti Hasmah Binti Hj Mohd Ali. Following that, MESCORP has successfully carried out their research overseas and has been well known internationally.

Since the establishment of the society, it has progressed tremendously under the inspiration and guidance of the advisors as well as with the overwhelming enthusiasm among the engineering students. Some of its recent achievements were winning the Best Club Award in the MMU Awards 2015 & 2017 and Best Developing Club 2018.

High Committee of EngSoc 2018/2019:
Position Name Email
President Hasan E. H. Abulaban (IEEE)
Vice President Abdulrahman Ahmed Mohammed Al-naggar (SPIE)
Secretary Teo Yar Lee (IET)
Treasurer Chee Sze Yan (IEM)

For more information, please refetr to the pdf here.

For more information on the Faculty of Engineering, please visit